Mr. Kola Adesina is the Group Managing Director of Sahara Power Group.  He has demonstrated a rich scorecard, leading transformational change in both the generation & distribution parts of the Nigerian electric power value chain.

In the electric power landscape, he has contributed immensely to the production of strategic blueprints towards a more viable market. He was a member of the Presidential Committee on the Accelerated Expansion of the Electricity Infrastructure in Nigeria where he alongside other committee members advised the government on the strategic unbundling and privatization of the power sector.

As Group Managing Director, Kola Adesina leads the vision of Sahara Power Group aimed at bringing energy to life by deploying diversified power sources to light up lives, businesses and sustainable interventions in Nigeria and across Africa.  Kola specifically oversees the Group’s affiliate utility companies which consists of Ikeja Electric, the largest privately owned power distribution business in South Saharan Africa (SSA), Egbin Power Plc – the largest thermal plant in Sub Saharan Africa and First Independent Power Limited.

Despite the post privatization constraints and challenges in the Nigerian electricity supply industry, Sahara Power Group epitomizes the intended objectives of the privatization of the power sector, and remains a shining example to other Core Investors in the power sector. The conferment of the Lifetime Achievement Award in the Power sector is in recognition of the immeasurable achievements of Mr. Kola Adesina and Sahara Power for keeping the lights on for millions of Nigerians and the Nigerian economy.

We now invite Mr. Kola Adesina, MFR to receive this Lifetime Achievement award.